Highlighted
Luminary
0 Kudos

To Atmos or not to Atmos

I love music, I love the quality of music, I love the feel of music, I am a musician. A Keybordist actually. I spent a lifetime searching for the perfect digital piano sound, the perfect feel of a digital piano sound, so I can tell when something sounds great or not. 

However I am not an audiophile; i.e. a hi-fi enthusiast. I cannot tell you the specs of any receiver even the one that I just bought. I cannot tell you what each of the settings would mean but I can tell you if it sounds terrible or not.

I don't play my music in stereo as the composer intended us to hear the music, but rather i let Dolby separate the sound as much as possible so that I get a good separation of different sounds coming from different angles and I loving listening to the sounds coming from all directions. I enjoy the emotions, the experience of the music rather than picking at the quality of the music. Mind you  if the music is noisy and raspy, I will complain.

The reason that I said all that is so you don't think I have a tin ear and everything I say, sounds great regardless.

So with all that out of the way, my latest acquisition is the Sony STRDN1080 which gives me Dolby Atmos.

I had spent days fine tuning my STRDN1060 and I had to do it again with my new STRDN1080. The funny thing is the default setting for all Sony receivers is a very strange flat tonal quality, almost as if someone that is a audiophile said this is the way music should sound. 

Much like the way they demostrate 4k tv at the store. What you see at the store are these ultra sharp tv showing you the pores of your favorite actors, clarity like you had been transported to some alternate universe where every life has been magnified until edges of the images can cut your eyes out. This was the reason that I didn't buy into the 4k tv agenda. I hated the clarity.